Polls closed across the county at 7 p.m. Tuesday for the August Primary.

Three candidates are seeking the Republican nomination for state representative for the 142nd District, which includes Texas County and parts of Pulaski and Phelps County, as well as Mountain View. On the ballot are Terry Brown, David J. Giarratano and Bennie Cook. All are Republicans. The winner takes a two-year term in Jefferson City. There is no opposition in November.

Connie Thompson did not seek re-election as  public administrator. Three candidates are seeking the position on the Republican Ticket. They are: Tina Garrett, Ashley (Mayfield) Applegate and Shalena Purcell. There is no opposition in November.

Three candidates are on the ballot for the Republican nomination for 33rd District state senator. The current officeholder, Mike Cunningham, cannot run again due to term limits. Voters will choose from Rep. Robert Ross, Rep. Karla Eslinger and former state representative Van Kelly. The district includes Douglas, Howell, Oregon, Ozark, Ripley, Texas, Webster and Wright counties. The winner faces retired educator Tammy Harty in the fall. 

One issue appears on the ballot. Constitutional Amendment 2 would tap federal funds to expand Medicaid. If approved, Missouri would begin the 38th state in the country to do so.

Running unopposed locally on the Republican Ticket are John Casey, District 1, associate commissioner, incumbent; Doyle Heiney, District 2, associate commissioner, incumbent; Scott Lindsey, sheriff, incumbent; Debbie James, assessor, incumbent; Marie Lasater, coroner, incumbent; and Chuck Manier, surveyor, incumbent.

Running unopposed locally on the Democrat Ticket are Brenda J. Jarrett, District 1, county commissioner; John E. Mitchell, District 2, associate commissioner; and Tammy Cantrell, collector-treasurer.

FACT CHECK See inaccurate information in this story? Tell us here.


Load comments