Election winners

Scott Lindsey, left, was elected Texas County's new sheriff while Scott Long was named new presiding commissioner. Both are Republicans.

Texas County has a new sheriff and new presiding commissioner.

Voters overwhelmingly elected Scott Lindsey as county sheriff during Tuesday’s General Election that drew a large turnout. Scott Long was named presiding commissioner.

General Election results from Tuesday's balloting

Lindsey, a Republican, defeated Democrat Doug Kyle 7,474-1,668 in a special election for the vacancy created when James Sigman was arrested in July and charged with seven felonies and two misdemeanors. He will fulfill the remainder of Sigman’s term that ends in December 2020.

Lindsey is the City of Licking’s police chief.

Sigman’s attorney, Jason Coatney, threatened legal action to “bring a halt to” the election to replace his client when Sigman appeared in court last month. Coatney did not respond to a message from the Herald asking if a motion had been filed.

Long, also a Republican, was a 6,653-2,514 winner against Democrat Rick Dixon to replace presiding commissioner Fred Stenger, who withdrew shortly after re-filing for the post.

PHOTOS: Polls busy Tuesday morning for General Election

Clerk Laura Crowley reported 9,401 – representing 59 percent – of the county’s 15,931 registered voters cast ballots.

Election results were delayed until 10:38 p.m. “We had some difficulties,” Crowley said.


Houston voters took auction to end the 16-year practice of fluoridation of the city’s water supply. With a 482-292 vote, the public ended a long – and often times heated – debate in city government.

The Houston City Council in May unanimously voted to place the issue on the ballot following a public meeting and several weeks of discussion on the matter. The group had the option to do nothing, remove fluoride after giving state regulators a 90-day notice or let the public decide.

An effort was made by citizens two years prior to stop the fluoridation practice. The council did not take auction.


Running unopposed in the county were: Robert Ross, state representative; Bill Hickle, circuit judge, division 1; Douglas Gaston, associate circuit clerk; Laura Crowley, county clerk; Marci Mosley, circuit clerk; Lindsay Koch, recorder of deeds; and Parke Stevens Jr., prosecuting attorney.

Crowley, the incumbent, defeated Brenda Jarrett in August.

FACT CHECK See inaccurate information in this story? Tell us here.


Load comments