You are the owner of this page.


Houston City Hall: Houston's city offices are in quarters at Grand Avenue and Oak Street. The Houston Police Department also is there. The city council meets on the first and third Monday nights. An industrial development office, headed by Ron Reed, is also located there. The Parks and Recreation Department also is coordinated from the site. Day-to-day operations of city government are overseen by a city administrator, Larry Sutton. Phone 417-967-3348. These citizens serve on city boards.

Houston city government's web site is at

Houston's ordinances available online.

Downtown Houston, Inc.: Downtown Houston, Inc. is a nonprofit organization dedicated to the preservation and revitalization of the community. Elaine Campbell is development director for the organization. The group has undertaken many projects to benefit the community. In 2008, it was awarded the Governor's Community Economic Development Award. In December 2017, it opened the Melba Theatre in downtown Houston following a major renovation. To contact the group click here

U.S. Forest Service: Texas County contains about 48,807 acres of Mark Twain National Forest land. Offices are at 108 S. Sam Houston Blvd, Houston. Phone 417-967-4194. Its web site is at:

Missouri Department of Conservation: A forestry office is on North U.S. 63, Houston. Gary Oakley is the forester. Phone 417-967-2248. Its web site is at

USDA Service Center: Includes the federal offices of Rural Development, Farm Service Agency, Natural Resource Conservation Service, Texas County Soil and Conservation District and Top of the Ozarks Resource, Conservation and Development also has quarters at 6726 S. U.S. 63. Phone 417-967-2028. Its website is at

Texas County Library: The main branch is at Houston with other facilities at Cabool, Licking and Summersville. Texas County Rural Area Information Network, which provides Internet service, is at Raymondville. Phone 417-967-2258. Its website.

University Extension: The office is located on Main Street in Houston at the Lone Star Plaza Annex. Phone 417-967-4545. Its web site is at

Texas County Children's and Family Support Divison, left - The agencies serve clients from North U.S. 63 and Oak Hill Drive. Phone 417-967-4551. The division of aging has a separate telephone number: 967-8353. The agency's Web site is here.

Department of Revenue License Bureau: Cynthia L. Blades is the fee agent for the office on North U.S. 63, Houston, situated in the Houston Plaza. Phone 417-967-3878.

Ozark Action: The service agency oversees several programs to help county residents, such as heating assistance and the Head Start program. Phone 417-967-2036. Its web site is at

Texas County Administrative Center, at right: Located at 210 N. Grand, some of county government operates from the administrative center. Many offices are there - Assessor's office, 417-967-4709; county clerk, 417-967-2112; county treasurer/collector, 417-967-2580; and county recorder of deeds, 417-967-3742. A 911 dispatch center also is located there.

Members of the county commission are: Presiding Commissioner John Stenger and Associate Commissioners John Casey and Doyle Heiney. The commission's formal meeting is Wednesday and it has a working session on Thursday. A commissioner is normally available in the Grand Avenue office on Monday, Tuesday and Friday, providing there is no conflict with other meetings or appointments. Its telephone number is 417-967-3222. Its website

County Justice Center: The Texas County Justice Center opened in late 2008 at Grand Avenue and Spruce Street. Offices related to law enforcement and justice are situated there: The Texas County prosecutor's office, 417-967-2029; public administrator's office, 417-967-2669; and juvenile office, phone 417-967-4127. Also situated there are circuit clerk office - 417-967-3742; associate circuit judge and probate, 417-967-3663; and Texas County Sheriff's Department, 417-967-4165. 

Texas County Justice Center, at right

State officials: Rep. Robert Ross, 201 W. Capitol Ave., Room 114A, Jefferson City, Mo. 65101. The telephone number is 573-751-1490.

Sen. Mike Cunningham, 201 W. Capitol Ave., Room 331, Jefferson City, Mo. 65101. The telephone number is 573-751-1882.

Federal officials: Office of U.S. Sen. Claire McCaskill, United States Senate, 730 Hart Senate Office Building, Suite 506, Washington, D.C. 20510, 202-224-6154, Fax 202-228-6326. Contact Sen. McCaskill

Office of U.S. Sen. Roy Blunt, 260 Russell Senate Office Building. Washington, DC 20510, 202-224-5721. Fax 202-224-8149. Contact Sen. Blunt

Office of U.S. Rep. Jason Smith, 1118 Longsworth House Office Building, Washington, DC 20515, 202 225-4404 and West Plains District Office, 35 Court Square, Suite 300, West Plains, MO 65775, 417-255-1515 or 830A S. Bishop, Rolla, Mo. 65401, phone 573-364-2455 or fax 573-364-1053. Contact Rep. Smith


Campaign finance

* Money, bills and votes of individual legislators is at

* Contributions to legislators, state officials and PACs is at
* Lobbyist gifts to legislators & state officials is at


Grand Cam

Grand Cam